— 6 min read
Wyoming Contractor Licensing: Guide to Rules & Requirements
Last Updated Nov 16, 2023
If you’re starting a construction business in Wyoming, one of the first steps is getting to know the rules regarding proper licensing and registration. This guide will highlight some of the most important things to know about Wyoming contractor licensing, allowing you to start your business off on the right foot in the Wyoming counties or municipalities you're working in.
Contracting in another state? Check out The Ultimate Guide to Contractors License Requirements in Every State.
Table of contents
Who needs a contractor license in Wyoming?
When it comes to contractor licensing, Wyoming has almost no statewide regulations. Other than electrical contractors, the state leaves licensing up to the individual counties or municipalities. It’s up to these entities to decide which contractors need licenses, which need to register, and which are free to operate without a license.
And, just because you carry a license in one of these municipalities doesn’t mean you’re free to operate in others — contractors working in several different cities or counties might have to carry individual licenses for each.
One more thing to keep in mind: Though the state only requires electrical contractors to carry state-issued professional licenses, most contractors will have to register their business with the state.
How to get a contractor license in Wyoming
As mentioned earlier, only electrical contractors need to pursue trade licenses through the State of Wyoming. However, most contractors do have to carry business licenses to operate within the state. And beyond business licensing, individual municipalities have their own requirements.
Regardless of the business structure (LLC, limited partnership, corporation, etc.), most Wyoming contractors will have to register their businesses with the Secretary of State. Registration is fairly straightforward as the Secretary of State allows users to register through an online portal.
You’ll need to ensure your business name is available with the state’s search tool, and then read the statutes relevant to file a business entity.
Online applicants need to pay a $2 convenience fee in addition to the $100 application fee for LLCs and limited partnerships.
Electrical contractors pursuing licensing in Wyoming will have to go through the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety. Application and renewal both cost $400, and licenses expire annually on July 1. To apply for licensing, would-be contractors will have to create a login and password through the department’s online portal.
Every electrical contractor in the state must have a Wyoming-licensed master electrician be the master of record. The master electrician must assume responsibility to ensure that the National Electrical Codes W.S. 35-9-120 through W.S. 35-9-130 are followed on all electrical work the contractor performs within Wyoming.
Requirements for master-level licensing include:
- Prove eight years of work experience in the electrical wiring industry
- Four of those years must be as a licensed journeyman with 576 hours of electrical-related classroom instruction
- A government-issued ID
- A copy of apprenticeship school documentation
- A unique personal email address
- Pay the initial $200 license fee
Make it easier to manage construction.
Wyoming contractor licensing at the municipal level
Contractor licensing in Cheyenne
Most contractors working in Cheyenne will have to carry a license issued by the city. These licenses fall under the responsibility of the city’s Compliance Division. There are several types of licenses available, including several general contractor licenses as well as specialty contractors. Also, the board issues licenses for plumbing, HVAC, electrical, and refrigeration contractors.
All Cheyenne contractors must be or employ a Qualified Supervisor, which requires passing an examination and detailing their hands-on experience in the industry. The qualifying experience varies based on the license type:
- Class A: Seven years of experience
- Class A Specialty: Seven years of experience
- Class B: Five years of experience
- Class D: One year of experience
- Class E: Five years of experience
- Class F: Three years of experience
- Class S: Two years of experience
The fee for these licenses also varies between license types, ranging from $250 to $650.
Cheyenne also requires HVAC, plumbing, refrigeration, and electrical contractors to apply for licensing. Again, these contractors require a Qualified Person, which typically means someone who holds a master-level license. The fee for these licenses is $250.
Contractor licensing in Casper
Unlike Cheyenne, contractor licensing in Casper, Wyoming, is pretty simple. Licensing falls under Casper’s Property and Housing Department, and it requires that general contractors, roofers, demolition contractors, and electricians carry a license with the city.
When it comes to general contractor licensing in Casper, applicants will use this application. There are three types of GC licenses:
- Class 1, which allows the contractor to construct, repair, or alter any structure
- Class 2, which allows the contractor to construct, repair, or alter residences up to eight-unit residential buildings and alter commercial structures up to 25 percent of the assessed value
- Class 3, which allows the contractor to repair, remodel, or alter single-family residences only up to 25 percent of the assessed value
The fee for Class 1 applicants is $300, but all other license types (including roofing and demolition) are $150.
Electrical contractors need to fill out this application and provide proof of a Wyoming electrical license. The fee for the application is $300.
Contractor licensing in Gillette
Gillette requires all contractors working within the city limits to carry a city-issued license. Licensing falls under the control of the Development Services Building Inspection Department, and there are many types.
For general contractors, these three main licenses are available:
- Class A, which allows the contractor to build, alter, repair, or demolish any structure
- Class B, which allows the contractor to build, alter, repair, or demolish one, two, three, or four-family dwelling buildings not more than 3 stories above grade and commercial buildings up to 5,000 square feet
- Class R, which allows the contractor to build, alter, repair, or demolish one and two-family dwellings not more than three stories above grade and townhouses not more than three stories above grade
Gillette recognizes electrical, HVAC, pipefitting, and plumbing contractors as vocational contractors, and they’re required to carry a Class D license.
There are also Class C specialty contractors, including:
- Concrete and paving
- Drywall and plaster
- Excavation, grading, snow removal, and demolition
- Landscaping, sprinkler systems, tree trimming, and fencing
- Manufactured housing
- Trim carpentry, painting, and flooring
- Water and sewer
- Windows, siding, gutters, and garage doors
Applicants will use this application, regardless of license type. Fees vary between license types, running from $500 for Class A GCs to $75 for specialty contractors.
Penalties for unlicensed contracting in Wyoming
While the state may prefer to relegate licensing responsibility to the cities, those individual areas do take their licensing requirements very seriously.
With each city making its own Wyoming contractor licensing requirements, penalties, fines, and legal ramifications come from the individual municipalities. Expect fines based on the number of offenses and the possibility of legal penalties.
Tom Scalisi is a writer with over 15 years of experience in the trades. He is passionate about educating contractors and specialty contractors about the best practices in the industry. He has seen first-hand how education, communication, and preparation help construction professionals overcome challenges to build a strong career and thriving business in the industry.View profile
Win More Work
Get discovered for relevant work on the Procore Construction Network.
Explore more helpful resources
In order to perform construction work, many states require contractors to be “licensed and bonded.” What does that mean? Well, every state sets its own rules for contractor licensing, and...
For many contractors, growing a construction business means taking on jobs in different states. Whether it’s to take a one-off project or to establish a new business location, working in...
If you’re starting a construction business in Vermont or looking to expand your business from another state, being properly licensed to work is one of the first key steps. There...
If you’re considering starting a contracting business in Maine, it’s important to know the rules and requirements for proper licensing. Maine takes a different approach to contractor licensing than most...